Thomas Rhett, Sam Hunt & More Take Home iHeartRadio Music Awards

Country Winners

Thomas Rhett, Sam Hunt, and Luke Combs won big at the fifth annual iHeartRadio Music Awards (March 11). It was a show to remember, hosted by Hailey Baldwin and DJ Khaled, with unforgettable live performances from Ed Sheeran, Eminem featuring KehlaniCardi B, Bon Jovi, Maroon 5Camila Cabello, Charlie Puth, and N.E.R.D and G-Eazy.

Year after year, the iHeartRadio Music Awards shines the spotlight on a multitude of genres, Country included. Among this year's big winners were Thomas Rhett, Sam Hunt, and Luke Combs. 

Country Song of the Year went to Sam Hunt's "Body Like A Back Road." The song was nominated alongside country hits including Jon Pardi's "Dirt On My Boots," Luke Combs's "Hurricane," Dustin Lynch's "Small Town Boy," and Thomas Rhett's "Unforgettable."

Thomas Rhett took home the award for Country Artist of the Year, which was revealed earlier in the week. The country star said of his win: 

"Wow, Country Artist of the Year. That is insane. Thank you guys so much for voting for that and voting me in there, because there’s so many great country artists out there that also just deserve this completely. And so I’m blown away that you have given this to me. Thank you so much to the iHeart team, you guys have become great friends of mine, and also great supporters of my music. Thank you so much to my Valory squad who represents all my songs and gets my songs played on the radio. And thank you so much to the fans who come out to the shows and support us day in, day out. To my wife, who helps me pick these songs that go on the records, and tell me when I’m doing something dumb in a show and how I can fix it on the next one. And thank you to the Lord for allowing me to do this crazy career and this life. It’s been a real honor. Thank you guys so much, this is really cool."

And rounding out the Country categories this year, was Luke Combs, who took home the award for Best New Country Artist. Luke was nominated alongside Brett Young, Jon Pardi, Kane Brown, and Lauren Alaina. In his acceptance speech, Luke thanked everyone he's worked with and explained of his win:

"I just want to say thank you for voting me iHeart’s Best New Country Artist. Thanks to everybody at country radio, Bobby Bones for helping me out with the On The Verge program. It really changed everything for me, and I can’t believe that I’m here right now. Thanks to my management team, label, friends, family, all my road guys. I can’t believe I’m here."

Additionally Country Album of the Year went to Chris Stapleton for his chart-topping record From A Room: Volume 1. The album was Stapleton's sophomore effort and the album became certified Gold, as well as won Grammy Awards for Album of the Year and Best Country Album. From A Room: Volume 1 includes singles "Either Way" and "Broken Halos."

Congratulations to Thomas, Sam, Luke, and Chris! To see the full list of winners, click HERE.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

Listen to this year's nominees and last year's winners

National Partners