Janet Jackson, Def Leppard & More To Join Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame 2019

Janet Jackson, Def Leppard, Stevie Nicks, Radiohead, The Cure, Roxy Music and The Zombies are all set to cement their legacy as members of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2019, as per an announcement on Thursday (December 13).

Set for inductions at the 34th annual ceremony, which will be held March 29 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York, the string of music icons will join the pool of industry heavyweights in front of a live audience. To be eligible for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years before the year of nomination. Fan votes helped secure momentum for the acts, but it essentially boiled down to the 1,000 ballots cast from Hall members. Among some of the nominees who didn't make next year's class include LL Cool J, Devo, Rage Against the Machine, MC5, John Prine, Todd Rundgren, and Kraftwerk.

While Jackson's induction comes after her third time as a nominee, this marks Nick's second induction into the hall since she's already been inducted as a member of Fleetwood MacMeanwhile, Def Leppard took home a big personal win as they've been inducted after appearing on the ballot for the very first time. "We were being informed daily how we were nudging ahead of Stevie [Nicks] and then there were comments like, 'Do you know that every winner of the fan poll over the past six years has been inducted?' We were, 'OK, cool. That's interesting to know,'" Joe Elliott told Rolling Stone. "Then we finally find out we're in. Now we can stop holding our breath and go, 'Great! How wonderful to be in the same club as the Rolling Stones and the Beatles and the Who and Queen and etc., etc.' It's nice. It's a good club to be in."

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content