Grammy Nominees Announced!

The Recording Academy announced the nominees for the 2020 Grammy Awards today (Wednesday), and country music fans will find a mix of contemporary and classic stars among the candidates, as well as a surprise or two.

Apparently Tyler Childers's fanbase includes several industry tastemakers as the indie artist with Americana leanings finds himself in the Best Country Solo Performance category among more expected nominees Ashley McBrydeWillie NelsonBlake Shelton and Tanya Tucker.

The Best Country Duo/Group Performance category has a bit of a plot twist with collaborations also landing in this field, so Brooks and Dunn's duet with Luke Combs, "Brand New Man," and Maren Morris's work with Brand Carlile on "Common" go up against tradition duos and groups Brothers OsborneDan and Shay and Little Big Town.

Though the Best Country Song award goes to the songwriters, it is noteworthy that all of the performing artists for the songs did also happen to be writers on their nominated work.

Thomas Rhett may have been surprised that his Center Point Road album was nominated for Best Country Album, but it's unlikely that anyone else is. Eric Church is also receiving his just reward in that category as well as in Best Country Song. And the ladies dominate the Best Country Album category with Reba McEntirePistol Annies and Tanya all taking a slot among the nominees.

If you're keeping tally, Ashley McBryde, Tanya Tucker, Dan and Shay and Eric Church each received a pair of nominations while the rest are singular nominees. 

Here's a list of the country categories. You can find additional country nominees scattered throughout thefull nominations list.


Tyler Childers - "All Your’n"

Ashley McBryde - "Girl Goin' Nowhere"

Willie Nelson - "Ride Me Back Home"

Blake Shelton - "God's Country"

Tanya Tucker - "Bring My Flowers Now"


Brooks & Dunn With Luke Combs - "Brand New Man"

Brothers Osborne - "I Don't Remember Me (Before You)"

Dan + Shay - "Speechless"

Little Big Town - "The Daughters"

Maren Morris f/ Brandi Carlile - "Common"


(award goes to the songwriter(s) - performer in parens)

"Bring My Flowers Now" (Tanya Tucker) - Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth, Tim Hanseroth & Tanya Tucker

"Girl Goin' Nowhere" (Ashley McBryde) - Jeremy Bussey & Ashley McBryde

"It All Comes Out in the Wash" (Miranda Lambert) - Miranda Lambert, Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna & Liz Rose

"Some of It" (Eric Church) - Eric Church, Clint Daniels, Jeff Hyde & Bobby Pinson

"Speechless" (Dan + Shay) - Shay Mooney, Jordan Reynolds, Dan Smyers & Laura Veltz


Eric Church - Desperate Man

Reba McEntire - Stronger Than the Truth

Pistol Annies - Interstate Gospel

Thomas Rhett - Center Point Road

Tanya Tucker - While I'm Livin'

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content