This Town Is Fining Kids Over 12 Who Trick or Treat

Halloween and the associated act of "trick or treating" are a favorite pastime of children and adults alike. However, there's a few towns that prefer these activities remain a CHILD favorite only. 

That's right, there's a town in Virginia that will fine children over the age of 12 if they go trick or treating. It carries a $100 penalty or even up to six months in jail. Yikes!

The Chesapeake, VA city ordinance reads:

“If any person over the age of 12 years shall engage in the activity commonly known as “trick ortreat” or any other activity of similar character or nature under any name whatsoever, he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.”

The city also has a time limit on Halloween related activities; nothing before 5pm or after 8pm. This means kids in middle school and high school can't go trick-or-treating and no-one trick-or-treating after 8 p.m.

AND this isn't the only town that has this kind of rule either..

I don't know about Virginia, but October 31st is gonna be poppin' in NYC this year. Wassup, VA?!?



Listen to Maxwell from 6pm - 10pm on Z100 for our '9 At 9' Read more


Content Goes Here